Personal Injury

When you get injured in an accident, your whole world can get turned upside down. Medical bills can pile up fast, and if you're too injured to work, you can quickly find yourself under a mountain of debt. If your injuries are the result of someone else's negligence, you could be entitled to compensation that can cover the cost of those medical bills and other things like lost wages or property damage. That's why it's important to have an experienced personal injury attorney on your side to help you understand your rights, the state laws on personal injury, and what you may be entitled to as a victim.

Is there a statute of limitations on filing a personal injury lawsuit in Texas?

Is there a statute of limitations on filing a personal injury lawsuit in Texas? Most states have some form of statutory limits on the amount of time you have to go to court to file a lawsuit after you've suffered an injury. These limits can vary depending on the type of injury you sustained, and the nature in which the injury occurred, but generally speaking the statute of limitation for personal injury cases in the state of Texas is two years from the date of the injury. If you do not have your lawsuit filed within that two-year window, the state's civil court system will likely refuse to even hear your case, which will result in you missing out on any chance to receive compensation for your injuries.

Have you been injured in an accident?

Let us help you seek the justice you deserve.

What other important information do I need to know about Texas personal injury law?

The laws governing personal injury in this state can be pretty broad and complex, which is why it's important to enlist an experienced personal injury attorney that can help you understand your situation and how the laws apply to you. Having said that, there are a few basic things to keep in mind about personal injury law in the state of Texas:

  • Texas is a shared fault state, which means that the amount of compensation you're entitled to receive will be reduced by an amount that is equal to your percentage of fault. This means that if you're found to be 10 percent at fault for an accident, you will only be entitled to 90% of the compensation you are awarded in your lawsuit.
  • If you are found to be more than 50% at fault for an accident, you will not be entitled to collect any form of compensation from other at-fault parties.
  • In Texas, statutory limitations on damages only apply to medical malpractice cases. All other personal injury cases have no cap on the amount of damages an injured person can receive.
  • If you have an injury case that involved the potential liability of a government entity or employee, such as slipping and falling in a state-owned building, you cannot file suit against the government. Instead, you must file a formal claim with the governmental unit that you believe is responsible for your injury, and that claim must be filed within 6 months of the date of the injury.

Ultimately, there can be a lot of issues to consider when facing a personal injury case. That's why the attorneys at Atkins Law Group PLLC are here to help personal injury victims across the Dallas area seek the justice they deserve so that they can begin to recover and get their life back on track. If you've been injured in an accident, don't wait. Call our office today to see how we can help you make things right.

Personal Injury Attorneys Serving the Residents of Dallas, Texas

If you’ve been injured due to someone else’s negligence, you shouldn’t have to fight the battle of recovery alone. The attorneys at Atkins Law Group PLLC have been fighting for injury victims across the Dallas area to help them seek fair compensation so that they can recover faster and get their life back. If you’ve been injured in an accident, call today for a free consultation.